Although sports betting has been legal in New York since 2019, gamblers were only allowed to place bets in person: no online and mobile facilities were approved until Monday.

On November, 8, the New York Gaming Commission announced a list of sports betting sites that will receive a gambling license to operate as local online sportsbooks for New York residents.
The list includes all industry giants already providing their services in more than ten states: Caesars, PointsBet, Resorts World, WynnBet, Rush Street Interactive, Fan Duel, Bally Bet, Draft Kings, and Bet MGM.

According to New York’s gambling tax law, all licensed sportsbooks will have to share 51% of their gross betting revenue with the government. The licenses will be valid for ten years and the bookmakers are expecting to accept the first bets in the live mode before the Super Bowl VLI in February. The actual regulations for licensed sportsbooks will be ready until the end of November.

Last updated on 12 Nov 2021 - 19:26

Add a comment
Add your comment

    By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies and the privacy policy